Picture
I think, mentally, I remember everything  as "pre-" or "post-"  September 11, and I remember that day as vividly as I remember the assassination of President Kennedy.

This was a horrible time for America, we were scared and we lost confidence in ourselves.  But the one good thing that came from these horrible events were the selfless acts of heroism, of Jew helping Muslim, black helping white because really, with all the dust and death covering these fortunate survivors, you couldn't tell who was black, who was white; who was Muslim, who was Jew; who was Democrat, who was Republican- we were all equal and we needed each other's help.  The entire country sincerely grieved together; patriotism was at it's highest probably since WWII.  Then things went back to normal.

I sit on the front porch and contemplate my neighborhood.  There's a family to my left, I'm not sure if they are Republican or Democrat.  The family to my left are Hispanic; I'm not sure if they're "legal" or not.  Directly across from me is a family with a teenage girl; maybe she's on birth control.  There's a couple of guys in the house catacorner; they might be gay. The family next to them-the dad's always home; maybe they're on Welfare.   And next to them is a family with five kids; wonder what church they go to.  Guess what!!!  I don't give a big, whoop what they are as long as they are good neighbors and abide by the law.  I'm more prone to wonder if they have enough food to eat and that their kids do well in school, than worry about the "small stuff"...and Sug

If we have learned anything from 9/11 we know that as Americans if we brush ourselves off and get back on our collective feet, we can pull out of this "Great Recession"  and do about anything else we put our minds to.  We will survive, but we have to make careful decisions on how that survival will translate as the kind of world we leave our children.




Leave a Reply.